FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Do I have to have a permit?
Yes. Regardless of your age, you have to pass the written test and get a permit in order to learn to drive.
How long is my permit valid?
Your permit is valid for one year from the date you tested. If your permit expires you must renew it before you can take lessons.
How long do I have to wait to get my license if I am under 18?
Once you get your permit, you are eligible to test after six months from the date of issue once you complete your 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training and 50 hours of practice hours.
Do I have to take Driver’s Training if I am over 18?
No, but it is highly recommended to take our behind-the-wheel lessons to learn California driving laws, safe driving habits and defensive driving techniques.
How far in advance should I schedule a session for driving training?
Please give us one to two weeks advance notice from when you want your lesson. Remember that school breaks and summer are busiest so the more advance notice, the better.
Can I take the six hours of driving training in my own car or my parent’s car?
No, all driving lessons must be in our vehicles which have a dual-brake system for maximum safety.
Do I have to complete my online driver’s education before starting my behind-the-wheel training?
Yes, you must have a valid California’s learners permit.
How long should I wait in between my three lessons?
We recommend dividing your lessons equally over the six month period, unless your instructor recommends more frequent lessons or your parents prefer you have more lessons prior to driving with them.
What qualifications do our instructors have?
Every instructor has completed a required 60 hour instructional program consisting of classroom and behind-the-wheel training, Livescan fingerprint search, health check and company screening prior to being certified by the DMV.
Can you pick me up from school/work/home?
Yes, we can pick you up and drop you off from any pre-arranged location.
How long do I have to wait to get my license?
You must be 15 and 1/2 before you can take the written test to get a permit. After you get your permit you must be practicing with supervisor for 6 months before you can get your license. There are no exceptions.
Do I have to take Driver’s Training?
If you want to get your license before you turn 18 then you must complete behind the wheel training with an instructor. You must also practice with your parent or other licensed driver for a total of 50 hours. Ten of those must be at night.
Do I have to have insurance?
You will be covered with our insurance when you take Driver’s Training. You might be covered by your parents insurance while you driving with them provided you have a learner’s permit. Check with your insurance company.
Can I use the instructor’s car for my driving test?
We offer the use of our vehicle for the drive test for an additional fee of $159.00. This includes free pick up and 1/2 hour of practice before the test. You will need to schedule your test and then call us to set up the appointment.